What's good here?

What to order at Miss Delta (Portland)

Posted on: April 22, 2011

I love love LOVE southern food. Pulled pork, fried chicken, collard greens, corn bread, gumbo, pecan pie, what’s not to love?! When my Portland fellow foodie took me to Miss Delta (3950 North Mississippi Ave., 97227) I was in southern food heavenoverall restaurant rating: 4.5/5. We walked right in when happy hour started so I had delicious Cajun jambalaya and amazing lemonade for only $8. It was such a good deal!

What we ordered:

Lemonade

Lemonade - Rating: 4.5/5 – So refreshing, tart and sweet at the same time, served in Mason jar. Classic hipster Portland.

Sweet Potato Fries served with homemade applesauce

Sweet Potato Fries – Rating: 5/5 – I’m a HUGE fan of sweet potato fries and these were awesome: Sweet and not greasy because they were baked, instead of deep-fried. The best part was that they were served with warm, homemade applesauce. Who knew applesauce and sweet potato fries would go so well together? I definitely didn’t, and boy, was I missing out!

Fried Okra served with sauce

Fried Okra – Rating: 4.5/5 – I’ve never had fried okra before, but it was very good. I’m not a big fan of okra in general because of its sliminess, but the fried okra at Miss Delta was not slimy at all. The breading was delicious: It was lightly breaded and deep-fried, but not greasy at all.

Collard Greens

Collard Greens – Rating: 5/5  ­- We ordered pork-seasoned collard greens and they were perfectly spiced and cooked. The stems were still attached, which I don’t mind, but I know many people who prefer collard greens without the stems.

Smoked Chicken & Pesto Trashy Mac

Smoked Chicken & Pesto Trashy Mac – Rating: 4/5 – I actually am not a fan of pesto anything, but this dish was so bomb because the pesto wasn’t overwhelming and the dish itself was creamy.

Jambalaya

Jambalaya – Rating: 4.5/5 – I loved this jambalaya. I order jambalaya whenever I get a chance to because it’s one of my most favorite dishes. The jambalaya at Miss Delta was so delicious and spicy! They weren’t afraid of making it spicy like other places. The jambalaya had shrimp, chicken and Andouille sausage, all perfectly spiced and mixed in with rice. If you can’t handle spiciness, this jambalaya might not be for you.

Meatloaf Trashy Mac

Meatloaf Trashy Mac – Rating: 4/5 – This mac ‘n’ cheese was like high quality Hamburger Helper. The cheese was very good and tasted like a blend of cheddar and pepper Jack cheese. The mac might’ve needed a dash of salt and pepper, but it was still creamy and had delicious meatloaf bits mixed into it.

Overall, the food was fantastic. I heard their hushpuppies and chicken fried steak is delicious too, but I didn’t get a chance to try them this time. I plan on going back to do so sometime soon! The service was okay; my table and another table were the only ones there, but our server was a bit frantic as if the place was packed. So I can’t imagine what it’d be like if we came in while they were busy.

Miss Delta has odd hours like many of the popular Portland restaurants; they don’t open until 3pm on the weekdays and close around 10pm. If you’re planning to stop by the restaurant, I highly recommend shooting for their happy hour, which is from 3pm to 6pm. The prices are great for both drinks and food! I would also check their website before coming in as well because they have different specials everyday:

http://missdeltapdx.net/home.html

Urbanspoon has more reviews and ratings worth checking out:

Miss Delta on Urbanspoon

Happy eating, my fellow foodies!

Leave a Reply

Blogger Linda Lam

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

When I posted

April 2011
S M T W T F S
« Mar    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 10,788 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

